Oh. My. God. San Francisco Rush: Extreme Racing, and the eMaker:Huxley

No, I’m not building replacement parts for SF Rush with my eMaker:Huxley… They just both happen to be recent acquisitions. Sadly, I must admit that the SF Rush has been taking the majority of my time, despite my desire to actually finish building the Huxley. The SF Rush generates more at’a-boy points from the familial unit. In my 6yo son’s words, “The motors are cool, but the rest is just boring.. let’s race instead!”

But that’s another story. First, let me back up and say… Oh. My. God. I had nearly forgotten that I had this thing called a blog. I think my last blog post was made a year ago… honestly, I could check to know for sure, but that’s not really the point. So what brings me back, dusting off the old wp-admin interface? Shit, I already let that cat out of the bag… Yeah, new toys.

As I was thinking about it this evening, I thought, “I should blog the restoration of my SF Rush.. that would be cool. Oh, wait.. already done.” then I thought, “I should blog the building of the Huxley. Naw, if my son thinks actually building it is boring, I can’t imagine the dry eyes to be had from reading about building it. Besides… already done.”

In fact, that singular thought that brought me back to my blog. More hacking. I don’t think I saw my blog being used to this end, but it seems popular in that regard. Who am I to complain.

So, what I am I hacking this time? Well, the SF Rush of course. So, just to be clear, for any poor soul who is unfortunate enough not to understand what “SF Rush” is. It’s probably one of the best coin-operated “driving simulators” to ever hit you local FLYNN’S. My wife and I have a couple of games that we bought just after getting married, and had always wanted a Rush. We would play it at the movie theater endlessly.. well, at least until our movie was about to start. When I managed to score one on eBay for a whopping $1.25 + ~$300 in shipping and handling, it was too good to pass up. Anyway, I digress. Short answer: San Francisco Rush: Extreme Racing is a lime-green, full-sized, sit-down, arcade game in which you race against 7 other cars through the streets of San Francisco. That game was built by Atari and released in 1997, and offered “realistic” physics, and sported force-feedback in the steering wheel, along with a 4.1 sound-track and surround/quadro-phonic audio. The game also supported “linking” 7 additional cabinets together to allow you to race with your friends, or participate in a tournament. Good times.

Anyway, so, onto the hacking. There are a number of mods, such as replacing PROMs and hard-drives with CF cards, and upgraded firmwares, etc. But that was all to “run of the mill”.” In my cleaning of a cabinet that had 15 years of “17 year-old” all of it, I noticed the link cable that interconnects multiple game cabinets together was standard Cat-5. A slightly closer investigation revealed that the interconnect was standard Ethernet. Oh joy!

While the ultimate plan is to get at least one more of these machines, so we can race our friends in the basement before heading in to watch a flick in the theater room, I had the thought: “I wonder what the packets look like…” Within a moment, I’d installed WireShark on my laptop, plugged in the Cat-5, and was capturing packets.

It was pretty boring, but it confirmed that the data is in fact standard Ethernet 2. Nothing quite as elegant as IP, but it was better than Token-Ring, or some proprietary serial-based protocol that just happened to be pushed through Cat-5.

So, now what? For starters I was thinking that it might be fun to record Time Trials, and then allow you race yourself. Not unlike Ghosts, except that you actually can crash into yourself. I also thought it might be interesting to look into creating advanced AIs for the other cars. That’s getting a bit more involved, since it would require more detailed knowledge of the track layout, etc, but I could certainly start with one of my own races, and applying some genetic algorithms to “evolve” my own driving.

So, anyway, I’ll try and do my best to post progress and keep my motivation, given the Huxley sitting next to me on the table, unfinished. Of course, if you stumble across my page, and find this idea interesting and worth its merit, drop me a line, or comment– it might just be the motivation I need.

UPDATE:: Well, after plucking around till way-to-late last night, I’ve decided to change my direction with this little hack, in the short term… While I was starting to make some progress talking back to the machine, I quickly realised that I would be severely restricted in my reverse-engineering of the protocols, without having a second machine on hand.

What occurred to me though, was that I could write an app that would let me proxy the Ethernet II packets over the Internet to another, remote Rush game, thus allowing multiple people to race against each other, without being in the same room.

If by some chance, someone with another Rush: ER game comes across this, and is interested in helping out in testing, please, drop a comment.

Next update:  After talking with others, hacking around, and doing a ton of investigation, here is what I’ve found so far:  One area that had me puzzled in my Wiresharking was that various packets with the (seemingly) same ID/Type would have different lengths, and different values at similar offsets.  While possible, it didn’t jive well, and I was getting really frustrated, until…

While digging around last night I actually found a field that seems to have a direct correlation to the packet length.  With that, I’ve found the following structures:

All Packets:  Basic “SF Rush” Header.  Includes a packet Id, Timestamp, and a couple of [fixed?] fields.
All Broadcast Packets:  Message Type (0x1815), Length, Game ID, Car/Console ID, handful of unknown fields.
— Various Sub-“Broadcast” messages: each has a corresponding state, 0x0-0x5, 0x9, and 0xA (identified so far).
— 0x00 : appears to be broadcast once at start of “attract mode”
— 0x01 : appears to be broadcast once at console startup
— 0x09 : ping at 3-second intervals when not racing (during “attract” and “game setup”)
— 0x02 : appears to be broadcast at start of “game setup”
— 0x05 : appears to be broadcast after selecting track
— 0x03 : appears to be broadcast after selecting car, drones/force-feeback options
— 0x04 : appears to be broadcast after selecting auto/manual
— 0x0A : appears to be broadcast prior to start of race

Still trying to pick out the various fields in the packet.  Unfortunately, I didn’t get much time to try and correspond difference game setup options with the packets.  I think I’m going to write up a “diff” function in my app, that will highlight packet data values that have changed, from previous packets.

I’m trying hard not to write a decoder for Wireshark.  That seems overkills.  But I’ve had to tell myself that more than once now…

I also followed up with some other machine collectors at the Arcade-Museum.  Apparently a few people have used OpenVPN to connect remote machines over the Internet, with success.  Of course, one of my concerns was simply finding enough people to actually coordinate and play with, and that was realized by those early attempts of others.  It also appears that the majority of machine owners have upgraded their systems to SFR: The Rock.  I seem to be in the minority with an actual SFR:Extreme Racing system.  I may track down the chips and do the upgrade… More tracks! Woot!

New update:  I just recently purchased a second RUSH.  I have to make a run out to Lake Tahoe to pick it up, but it should make for some much easier wire-sharking!

~ by kylemallory on November 10, 2011.

7 Responses to “Oh. My. God. San Francisco Rush: Extreme Racing, and the eMaker:Huxley”

  1. Oh my #$”$”# god, that one of my dream, getting an arcade box… I always though of buying one use which didnt work and place an old xbox in it, and transfering the wiring of the arcade into the remote… with a little bit of soldering 😉
    i’ve seen plenty of those on the internet and this allow you to play EVERY kind of game with emulator on the old xbox and fews more things
    give us somes news !!

    • Arcade machines aren’t terrible hard to come by. Check on Ebay, and with your local arcade repair, they usually sell on consignment for their customers.

      I’d venture to say that the problem of having one isn’t as much the cost as it is the physical space they consume. My wife and I bought our first two games, Ms Pacman and Rampage, while we were still living in an apartment. It got a little tight at times, but we made them fit. The Rush was not only cost restrictive at the time, but no way would it have fit in our apartments.. not even really our first house.

  2. Found your post while looking through all the info about these machines I could find. I just got a SF Rush and updated it to Rush the Rock as well. I’m putting money into the monitor so I want the best game I can get. Your project sounds really cool though. If you ever upgrade and want to try VPN to decode the protocol let me know. I wonder if something could be done with Mame to figure out the networking protocol?

    I’ve been working on a Prusa Mendel as well. The extruder is a big challenge to make work right and reliably.

    Thanks
    Jim

    • Jim,

      Actually, I would very much like to setup a VPN. The Rush took a backseat because I wasn’t have much luck. I got a lot of good info from the original developers, as a lot of the protocol is based on DoD simulation specifications, but there was still a bit of setup and game negotiation that’s unique that I couldn’t seem to work past without another client. I considered MAME, but so far, I haven’t been able to find any information that suggests MAME support networking.

  3. I haven’t tried RUSH on MAME yet, but I do see discussion of the Mame Ethernet driver for RUSH. In places like this:
    http://mamedev.org/source/src/mame/drivers/seattle.c.html

    Like I said earlier, I have upgrade my machine to “Rush The Rock.” Have you? It’s worth doing. If you haven’t we could still try to have the machines chat to each other, but I assume it will break down fairly quickly. Do you have my email address from this post? Email me directly and we can discuss details of how to setup the vpn and when to do it.

  4. Hey there! Did you update your machine yet? It’s totally worth doing. (You know that fence in front of tunnel inside the culvert turn on Map 2? That tunnel is open on Rush the Rock… Although I don’t think it’s faster…) And the extra maps are worth it.

    If you get the update we can try VPN sometime.
    Jim

  5. Hey man. cool project.

    I have a RUSH the Rock cabinet.

    I’m interested in your project

    I’m currently working out the details on putting multiple games on my Rush cabinet all while keeping the Force Feedback working.

    most Mame doesnt support force Feedback but Model 2 and Mame Hooker are making things look alot easier.

    technicly i should be able to figgure this out…. Gotta hack a PC steering wheel and amplify the POTS and it should all work pretty good.

    ANyway, if you ever get this VPN or network thing up, maybe i wont mod my RUSH cabinet to MAME. Rush would be alot more fun with people online.

Leave a Reply

 
